MENU mobile menu

Use of Force

COURSE FEE: $125.00


COURSE DESCRIPTION: Law enforcement officers are sworn to uphold the law and must attempt to apprehend those who violate it. Officers are required, however, to use only that amount of force that is reasonably necessary to make the apprehension. When excessive force is used, the officer, as well as the agency, may be held both criminally and civilly liable. Discussion in this course will focus on case law and legislation which defines the amount of force that is lawfully available to officers in attempted arrest/seizure cases as well as what the courts have defined as excessive force. Use of force and excessive force will also be considered in the context of high-speed pursuit cases. The officer will be shown methods for improving his or her performance in the courtroom. Case scenarios involving the use of force, deadly force, and high-speed pursuits will be used for class discussion. This course is designed for all certified law enforcement officers.

Instructor:   Emily White Lengefeld is the Deputy Executive Director at the Judicial Discipline & Disability Commission in Little Rock, Arkansas.  Her past experiences include working as the managing attorney at the Law Offices of Gary Green where she was lead attorney on multiple wrongful death, traumatic brain injury, medical negligence and general personal injury cases. She also served as Deputy Prosecuting Attorney in the 6th and 22nd Judicial Districts.  Ms. Lengefeld graduated from Henderson State University and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, William H. Bowen School of Law. She is licensed in Arkansas State Courts and Eastern and Western Districts of the United States District Court in Arkansas.

TARGET AUDIENCE: All levels of law enforcement officers and supervisors.


PAYMENT OPTIONS: Check, Purchase Order or Credit Card.

CONTACT INFORMATION: Kimberly Hendricks: at 501-570-8041.
Toll free: 1-800-635-6310.

REGISTRATION INFORMATION:  Registrants must fax a signed and dated verification letter on agency letterhead within five days of submission of the registration request form to 501-565-3081 which includes the following statement:  This letter will verify that I, (name of registrant), am an employee of (agency name) and hold the position of (sworn/non-sworn) (position title), located at (address) and have registered for (name of class) on (date).

This class is 6 hours.


March 2, 2018
Lonoke County Sheriff's Office
Lonoke, AR

   Click to Register