MENU mobile menu

Law Enforcement Officers Across the State to be Honored at the 16th Annual DWI and Occupant Protection Enforcement Awards

More than 40 law enforcement officers from across the state will be honored tomorrow at the 16th Annual DWI and Occupant Protection Enforcement Awards, an event hosted by the Criminal Justice Institute and the Arkansas State Police Highway Safety Office. The officers being recognized have been nominated by their respective agencies to receive these awards.  Their enforcement efforts have made a significant impact on highway safety and have helped save lives.

This past year, many law enforcement agencies in the state participated in Selective Traffic Enforcement Projects (STEPs). These projects are funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and administered by the Arkansas State Police Highway Safety Office to assist officers in providing increased enforcement of all traffic laws with an emphasis on impaired driving and occupant restraint laws.

The award ceremony will be held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Little Rock on Friday, May 27, 2016. The luncheon will begin at 12:00 noon, and the award ceremony will begin around 12:30.